Skip to main content

Sumo wrestling training

This morning we watched sumo wrestlers train. They train every day.  Highlight of the day, nuff said. 




Then I left Eric for a sumo wrestler 


Then we ate lots of sashimi at Tsukiji outer fish market. YUM


They closed the Tsukiji Inner Fish market (for vendors) just this past Saturday.  They’ve literally been talking about doing this for years.  It’s been moved about 30 minutes away and opening next week.  The new site was contaminated so they had to “clean” it up.  RIP the old Tsukiji inner fish market (with our nice guide):




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

OH YES WE DID!

Oh yes we did drive go-carts through Tokyo for 3 hours at night dressed like Mario Brothers without helmets or seatbelts.  It was both crazy and crazy fun at the same time.  I think we topped 70km/hr which Eric says is about 43mph. I’m sure it was perfectly safe.  We drove across rainbow bridge too  This is where I ogled the Valentino store in Ginza: And Rainbow Bridge in the background that we drove over... twice:

Kyoto is Crowded

Let’s start with dinner last night in Kanazawa. We hit the Taito arcade afterwards and played some more drum game!  They didn’t have Flip the table game.   We played a new game that resembles my favorite coin game at Dave and Busters where you have to knock the coins off the ledge.  Only with this game, you had to knock candy off the ledge and after about $10 we scored this booty: Eric claims the ones above were gum but I thought they were marshmallows so I swallowed them.  At noon we arrived in Kyoto and munched on squid, scallops, crab and chestnut mochi at Nishiki Market.  Even though we have been to about 4 markets already, this one was still different and fascinating. Lots of “no photo” signs though.  Then we went to Tofuku-ji Buddhist temple Then the famous Fushimi Inari Shrine with the famous orange gates you see in every pic of Kyoto.  What you don’t see in every pic is the massive crowd there.  And of course everyone is trying to take a p...

Takayama Folk Village and Cult Headquarters

Today started with a trip to the morning markets where you can sample the goodies!  We had Hida beef nigiri.  We bought an apple and a pear.    Then we headed to the Hida Folk Village.  Super views.  Then we visited what was described by our travel agency, Inside Japan, as a cult headquarters: The place is massive and they are building an even bigger shrine next door.  I don’t know where this place gets all it’s money.  There were only 2 other visitors there.  A huge koi aquarium inside and lots of red velvet and chandeliers.  I couldn’t take pics inside.  But outside there was a replica Mexican fountain They were very nice there and did not try to make us join their cult.  And they gave us a couple sips of sake on our way out.   Then we did a Shinto shrine and cemetery  And we visited a museum that had “retro” Japanese goodies from the 60s.  highlight:  playing vintage pachinko games!!!   Here are some...